How to Get Out of a Fashion Rut

fashion rut

It happens to all of us at some point or another. It seems as if one day everything is fine, and we love our wardrobe, and the next, we have nothing to wear and we hate everything. It’s something that I find happens to me once or twice a year. I especially feel the pressure to always look trendy and fashionable given my major (fashion merchandising), but being a college kid, I don’t have enough money to be constantly cleaning out my closet and starting from scratch.

This puts me in a fashion rut.

It’s almost as if I forget how to dress myself and question every purchase I’ve made in the past four years. We’ve all been there, and this is how to combat the ever dreaded ‘I have nothing to wear’ feeling.

fashion rut 3

Accessorize
Buying accessories is a lot easier and cheaper than buying tops or bottoms. If you’re someone who owns a lot of basics, like solid colored tops, you can make a whole new look by adding accessories. Forever 21 is a great place to get cheap statement jewelry that can completely change up an outfit. Scarves are a great option during the winter. If you have a solid white top, having 3 or 4 different scarves or necklaces to throw on top gives you a whole new look.

fashion rut 5

Step Out of Your Color Comfort Zone 
I’m more comfortable in dark colors, like black, navy, grey, maroon, etc. But to combat my fashion rut, I’ve added pastels, taupes, and tans. Just by getting a tan coat and shoes, I was able to completely change up my wardrobe. They can still be paired with the colors that I already own, but they give room for more options in the future. It also adds a little challenge to getting dressed, so I find myself trying on more stuff, leading to me finding outfit combinations I would not already have thought of.

fashion rut 2

Try the Trends, in Moderation
When you do go shopping, don’t spend all your money on trendy items. But getting a few items that are trendy, but will last a few seasons is is always a good investment. Boots are a good example. A pair of black boots with last you for just about ever, but the details on them or the material can allow them to be more trendy.

fashion rut 4

Get a Statement/New Coat
I find that during the fall and winter, I shape my outfits around my coats. When you have a closet entirely composed of coats of one color family, all your outfits will feel the same and soon become boring. Getting one coat that’s different (and I’m not talking about one that’s the same color but a different cut), your outfits will get a new feel to them.

What’re your tips to avoid that ‘nothing to wear’ feeling?

Leave a comment